May 14, 2015

Where Do I Begin…The process of Creating an Event

Posted in color palette, Other Events, Planning Tips and Information, Weddings tagged , , , , , , , , , at 2:00 am by JBEvents

Color Palette

As a Planner, many of my clients come to me asking “where do I begin on selecting my wedding theme?” and it is one of the many fascinating and enjoyable tasks of my job.  In order to come up with the wedding vision/theme, I ask a series of questions to get to know more about my client and things that they have an affinity for.  Sometimes, clients may have a specific color or palette that they like, so I would then take those colors and come up with various ideas and options for how they can be utilized.  There have been times when a client didn’t even have a color preference, so part of the design consultation involves determining colors that the client likes ~ maybe a favorite color or colors that evoke a special feeling.  In addition to determining the color palette, we also must determine the style preference.  In most cases, a color palette can be used for any style of wedding (Classic, elegant, modern, vintage or rustic) so having a client look through images can be helpful for them to determine their preferred style. {You can visit my Pinterest Board for a variety of Wedding Styles ~ https://www.pinterest.com/jbevents/wedding-styles/

Once a color palette and style have been selected, then pulling together ideas that fit within the theme is the next step.  One thing that I impress upon my clients is to be unique, and brand their event with their own personal style.  Even when looking at images of aspects they like, I always work with designers to not just re-create a specific design, but to create something new and unique to each client.  It’s important to work with professional designers that are creative in their approach to develop decor design instead of taking their last creation and using that design again or copying someone else. This assures that every clients event is one-of-a-kind.

Creating a vision board is a valuable tool that helps clients hone in on their wedding style.  I encourage my clients to use the board as an inspiration which allows us to continue to add ideas throughout the planning process.  Once decisions are made as to the specific elements for the client, a tactile board can be created to include swatches of fabric. sketches of designs and samples of the stationery suite to see how everything will look together.  Seeing how everything fits together is an exciting process.

To see a vision board that I recently created click here. This board began with a color palette that I thought best fit the client based on some of their favorite colors.  From there, I took their style of classic and elegant and developed a overall design idea taking into consideration all aspects from invitations to the reception.  

I love assisting my clients with creating the look for their wedding as well as all of the other details that go into the planning and producing of their event.  To begin creating your special event, contact us today and let the Planning Begin!

Janice Blackmon Events is an award winning event planning company specializing in assisting our clients with innovative concepts, creative design and flawless execution of their event.

Leave a Reply

